The 2008 NFL Draft was held April 26-27, 2008 at Radio City Music Hall in New York. There were a total of 252 players selected over the two days of the draft -- 63 on the first day (which consisted of the first two rounds) and 189 on the second day.

There were 35 wide receivers selected, the most frequently-selected position; however, none were taken in the first round for the first time in the common draft era (dating to 1967). Michigan offensive tackle Jake Long was selected first overall by the Miami Dolphins. It was the first time in the common draft era that the Dolphins made the No. 1 overall selection.

The first round consisted of 31 selections. The New England Patriots forfeited their selection, which would have been No. 31 overall, due to NFL penalties imposed after they were caught illegally videotaping their season-opening game against the New York Jets.

Only one drafted player -- Titans RB Chris Johnson (No. 25 overall) -- was named to the Pro Bowl as a rookie. However, Buccaneers undrafted RB Clifton Smith made the 2009 Pro Bowl as a return specialist. No. 3 overall pick Matt Ryan (QB, Falcons) was named the Offensive Rookie of the Year, while No. 10 overall pick Jerod Mayo (LB, Patriots) earned Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.