The 2006 NFL Draft was held April 29-30 at Radio City Music Hall in New York, the first time it was held at that location. It was the 71st annual NFL Draft.

The most frequently selected position was defensive back, with 49 players taken. USC had the most players selected, with 11. A record 62 underclassmen entered the draft and 34 were selected. Six underclassmen were picked in the Top 10, the most since seven were taken in 1997.

North Carolina State defensive end Mario Williams was selected No. 1 overall by the Texans, the first defensive player selected No. 1 since Courtney Brown in 2000. Williams was one of 51 ACC players drafted, the most of any conference.

Miami kick returner/punt returner Devin Hester, picked 57th overall by the Bears, was the only drafted player to make All-Pro as a rookie. He was a first-team selection.

Titans quarterback Vince Young, the No. 3 overall pick, was the Offensive Rookie of the Year, joining Ben Roethlisberger as the only quarterbacks to win the award to that point. Texans LB DeMeco Ryans, the No. 33 overall pick, was the Defensive Rookie of the Year. He was the first player not selected in the first round to win Defensive Rookie of the Year since 2001.

Nine straight defensive players were chosen in the first round -- picks 12 through 20. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, that's the longest streak of defensive players chosen in the first round of any draft since there were 12 consecutive defenders chosen in the 1984 draft.

"Mr. Irrelevant" was Maine WR Kevin McMahan, selected 255th overall by the Oakland Raiders.