The 1968 NFL Draft was the second common draft between the competing NFL and AFL. The draft consisted of 17 rounds, lasting 462 selections and took place at at the Belmont Plaza Hotel in New York.

The Minnesota Vikings acquired the first overall selection from the New York Giants and chose Ron Yary, an offensive tackle from the University of Southern California. It is the only time in the common draft era the Vikings have made the first overall selection. Yary, a Pro Football Hall of Famer, is one of five USC players to be selected first overall as of the 2008 NFL Draft.

The 1968 draft produced five Pro Football Hall of Famers, three of whom (Charlie Sanders, Elvin Bethea and Art Shell) were selected in a seven-pick span in the third round. As of 2008, Yary and Larry Csonka are the only players selected in the first round to be inducted in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For the second straight year, the Lions first round draft pick went on to win Offensive Rookie of the Year honors. This time it was Earl McCullouch, a former wide receiver at USC. The Defensive Rookie of the Year was Claude Humphrey, a former Tennessee State defensive lineman selected third overall by the Falcons.

1967 Heisman Trophy winner Gary Beban of UCLA was selected in the second round (30th overall) by the Los Angeles Rams.